RugbyDump RugbyDump
Sunday Oct 20, 2019

Late Welsh try deemed legal despite looking forward

Late Welsh try deemed legal despite looking forward
7
Comments

Welsh number eight Ross Moriarty scored the decisive try against France in their 20-19 quarter-final victory over France in the World Cup on Sunday.

Wales had a defensive scrum deep inside the France half in the 74th minute when flanker Charles Ollivon was stripped of possession by replacement scrum half Tomos Williams.

However as the ball was squeezed out of the arms of Ollivon, the ball appeared to travel forward into the hands of Justin Tipuric but the try was still awarded following a TMO referral.

This late try secured a fantastic comeback for the Welsh after conceding two early tries against French in Oita, Japan.

Full match highlight are available below:

7 Comments

  •  drexl
    drexl
    10:18 AM 23/10/2019

    The video above doesn't show the scrum that led to the controversial welsh try: number 21 was offside, and then knocked the ball forward. That is 2 offences and then Jaco Peyper takes a very short time analyzing the video to validate this crucial call, when long time was given to analyze less important calls during group stage games.Watch the video above carefully, 1mn24s in the video, red player makes contact with the ball, therefore, it is rule 11-2 that applies:https://laws.worldrugby.org/?law=11&language=EN

    Reply
  •  phil
    phil
    11:17 AM 21/10/2019

    I have no idea what the point of this is. The law says this is fine even if it goes forward. https://laws.worldrugby.org/?law=11&language=EN

    Reply
    •  im1
      im1
      1:48 PM 21/10/2019
      Top Comment

      That is only where the ball goes forward from the ball carrier’s arms, not the tackler who is doing the ripping. In this case it has gone backwards from the ball carrier’s arms which was caused by the Welsh 9s ripping action towards the French line, so it’s a knock on

      Reply
      •  im1
        im1
        1:51 PM 21/10/2019

        11.2 is the appropriate law, not 11.5.b

        Reply
    •  no8
      no8
      12:47 PM 21/10/2019

      It's clickbait, which is pretty much all you're going to get from rugbydump these days. Shame.

      Reply
  •  colombes
    colombes
    8:45 AM 21/10/2019

    Of course, it did travel forward but the real turning point was the stupid and undependable elbow from Vahaaminha. Result: sad but proud french fans, happy but unproud welsh ones, happy but (un)proud Jaco Peyper (?) Silly stuff. https://twitter.com/BBCSport/status/1186180316458676224

    Reply
  •  45678
    45678
    8:27 PM 20/10/2019

    It did travel forwards. Only the most blinkered Welshman would tell you otherwise

    Reply


Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All

Funnies

View All

Amateur

View All

Player Features

View All
Late Welsh try deemed legal despite looking forward | RugbyDump - Rugby News & Videos